Rajapaksa to be new G-15 chairman

print   ·   T  T  
Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa
Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa

Colombo: Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa will take over the chairmanship of the Group of 15 countries (G15) from his Iranian counterpart Mahmoud Ahmadinejad at the forthcoming summit in Tehran on Monday.

Mr. Rajapaksa will serve as the chairman of the grouping, of which India is also a member, for a two-year term.

The G-15 Summit to be held in Tehran on Monday will focus on co-operation among developing countries in the areas of investment, trade and technology.

Developing countries

The grouping accounts for one-third of the global population and consists of some of the biggest economies of the world, an official release said here on Saturday.

Algeria, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Egypt, India, Indonesia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Senegal, Sri Lanka, Venezuela and Zimbabwe are members of the group.

The Group also regularly reviews the impact of international economic developments and seeks to encourage a productive North-South dialogue aimed at finding ways of dealing with problems, in a cooperative manner, it said.

As the chair of the G-15, Sri Lanka would be entrusted with the responsibility of articulating the aspirations of the developing world.

“Sri Lanka will also build on the work done by previous Chairs of the Group, to add to South-South cooperation,” it said. — PTI



Recent Article in INTERNATIONAL

Refugee children displaced by tsunami try to catch relief goods in Lampaya, on the outskirts of Banda Aceh, Indonesia in a January 2005 file photo.— PHOTO: AP

10 years since tsunami, Asia recalls the horror, remembers the victims

Tearful memorials were held across tsunami-hit nations on Friday for the 220,000 people who died ten years ago when giant waves decimated... »