World T20 to include 16 teams from 2014 instead of 12

The International Cricket Council's Executive Board today decided to increase the number of teams in the biennial World Twenty20 Championships from 12 to 16 for the editions commencing 2014.

During a weekend meeting here, the ICC Board received a report of the strategic discussions held at the Chief Executive's Committee (CEC) in March and confirmed the increase in the number of teams participating in the ICC World T20 from 12 to 16 men's teams, from 2014 onwards. "The event should remain a joint men's and women's event," it said.Lorgat said the amount of cricket was discussed before the decision. "The need to manage volume of cricket was considered when agreeing to allow the additional T20Is to be played in a year," he said. The Board confirmed the hosting for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 qualifying tournament in the United Arab Emirates in October 2013 and the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 qualifying event in New Zealand in 2014.— PTI