Allrounders Glenn Maxwell and Moises Henriques were handed a Test call up in Australia’s 17-member squad as the selectors on Thursday decided to go for a strong bowling attack for their four-Test tour of India starting next month.

Xavier Doherty and Steven Smith were also included in the team along with Nathan Lyon as Australia went for four spinners to exploit the spin-friendly conditions in the subcontinent.

James Pattinson, who was out of cricket due to a rib injury and side strain, also made a comeback to the Test team, while Peter Siddle, Jackson Bird, Mitchell Starc and Mitchell Johnson are the other pacers who were included in Australia’s five-strong pace attack.

Watson is specialist batsman

Vice-captain Shane Watson, who had sustained a left calf injury while bowling on day one of the Boxing Day Test against Sri Lanka in December, was included as a specialist batsman. Opener David Warner was also picked in the squad and also back in the mix was batsman Usman Khawaja.

“…In aiming for more depth in a bowling attack, the squad would allow for three pace bowlers, a leading spinner and Maxwell, or two pace bowlers, the two spinners and Henriques. These are two of the options,” selection committee chairman John Inverarity said. Doherty hasn’t played Test cricket since his two tests in the Ashes defeat at home in 2010-11 but his recent form in limited over cricket saw him selected.PTI