Academic adventures

print   ·   T  T  

Book: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Author: J.K. Rowling

For Harry Potter, the world has always been a dull and boring place. But, things change on his eleventh birthday when he finds out that there is more to his parents’ death than just a car crash. Harry learns that he is not just an ordinary boy but a wizard.

Beginning with the invitation for Harry to study at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, J K Rowling narrates the story of the boy’s adventures through a series of books. Harry wades through six years of education, patronage, fame, friendship, adventure, death and survival. Each book details one year of Harry’s journey; each culminates in an attempt to foil the Dark Lord’s plots to gain absolute power. The series transports readers into a world where they can feel the magic in the air.

We also recommend:

The Turbulent Term of TykeTiler – Gene Kemp

The author writes a story about the naughtiest boy at Cricklepit Combined School.

Blubber – Judy Blume

This book tells you how to turn the tables on bullies in your class.

Jennings Goes to School – Anthony Buckridge

J C T Jennings keeps his schoolmates and teachers on their toes with his antics at Linbury Court Preparatory School.



Recent Article in IN SCHOOL

ICC announce umpires and referees for World Cup

Marais Erasmus (picture) and Nigel Llong will be the on-field umpires for the World Cup opener between New Zealand and Sri Lanka on Febru... »