: Thirty new colleges have got affiliation under Bangalore University (BU) for 2014-2015. With this, 530 colleges (other than non-B.Ed colleges) are now affiliated to BU. The decision was taken at the syndicate meeting on Wednesday.

Similarly, of 502 colleges that have applied for renewal of affiliation, 500 colleges were approved. The decision was taken based on reports of 25 Local Inquiry Committees. Briefing presspersons after the syndicate meeting, Prof B. Thimme Gowda, BU Vice-Chancellor, said all the colleges would be informed about their affiliation by the end of the month. He also said that while new guidelines for the LIC to bring uniformity and qualitative observations were followed for deciding affiliation, the norms were relaxed in rural colleges. “As we want to facilitate access to education in rural areas, we have been particularly liberal while granting affiliation in rural women’s colleges,” he said.

Meanwhile, the syndicate found that the Mangalore Institute of Management in Science as well as MES Gurukula Degree College for Women had the same principal. Therefore, Prof. Gowda said the syndicate would grant affiliation only to Mangalore Institute of Management in Science. It has also approved 163 Braille scholarships for visually challenged students.