Massive Attack

print   ·   T  T  

Buy? Yes!

Massive attack - a collaborative music duo from the U.K. recently released their fifth studio album ‘Heligoland'. The album features an array of guest stars; Damon Albarn, Hope Sandoval, Guy Garvey, Martina Topley-Bird, Tunde Adebimpe and many more. The album was ranked sixth in the UK Albums Chart and 46 {+t} {+h} in the U.S. Billboard 200.

The first track of the album ‘Pray for Rain' renders a gothic splendor and sets the mood for the entire album. The gothic tune straddled by enthralling lyrics leaves the listener awestruck. The gorgeous vocals of Topley-Bird in the track ‘Babel' has a dreamy-dark sense to it. ‘Girl I Love you' with its techno-trance music guides one to haunting depths. ‘Saturday come slow' leaves the listener captivated.

‘Paradise Circus' steals the show with rhythmic beats and Hope Sandoval's seductive, whispers. The other tracks in the album include ‘Splitting the Atom', ‘Psyche', ‘Flat of the Blade', ‘Rush Minute' and ‘Atlas Air'. The album cover designed with the same theme is noteworthy of mention.

I would describe Heligoland as intense, haunting, eerie, gothic, dreamy, dark, timeless and undiminished. Massive attack with their experimental style, gripping lyrics, enthralling vocals, and mesmerising music has created an album like no other.