Through many changes in the line-up, Yes worked like magic and stormed the charts

Progressive music found its form in the early '70s, with groups like Emerson Lake and Palmer, Genesis and Yes. Formed in 1968 by Jon Anderson (vocals) and Chris Squire (bass), Yes was soon joined by Bill Bruford (drums), Peter Banks (guitar and vocals) and Tony Kaye (keyboards). Their tentative walk to fame and fortune started when they opened for the band Cream at their farewell concert at London's Royal Albert Hall. Initially, performing cover versions of Buffalo Springfields' "Everydays" and the Beatles' "Every Little Thing", Yes became club favourites with their debut single "Sweetness". Personnel changes came thick and fast with Banks leaving and being replaced by Steve Howe (guitar). The Yes Album featuring Howe infused strong interest in the group and brought about phenomenal commercial success. Tony Kaye was the next to walk out, his place being taken by the inimitable keyboard wizard Rick Wakeman. Two subsequent albums went gold namely Fragile and Close to the edge both featuring the wizardry of Wakeman. They regrouped again in 1976 with Rick Wakeman back in the fold. However, the bonding was missing and in spite of selling albums by the dozen and filling concert arenas to the brim, the end was well nigh. Yes called it a day when Jon Anderson, who wrote most of the lyrics, decided to go solo. But in 1983 Anderson, Kaye Squire, Alan White (drums) and South African Trevor Rabin (guitar) reunited and their compilation 90125 consisting of the number "Owner of a Lonely Heart", scored the band's highest chart position. Bickering reached the point of no return when the disputing factions went to court claiming the group name as theirs. The two warring groups consisting of Squire, White, Rabin, Kaye and Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman, Howe finally decided to bury the hatchet and came together on the album aptly named Union.A. GEORGE ANTONY