Politicians rally for road safety

print   ·   T  T  

Event Parliamentarians hit the road for a cause

Pole positionVice President Hamid Ansari flagging off the car rallyPHOTO: PTI
Pole positionVice President Hamid Ansari flagging off the car rallyPHOTO: PTI

Our politicians always seem to make headlines for the wrong reasons whether it is for their involvement in sundry corruption deals or holding the proceedings of the Parliament. Politicians never seem to make headway with positive news. Under the circumstances it was refreshing to see them show their human side by participating in the JK Tyre Constitution Club of India Parliamentarian Car Rally.

The rally in its third edition gave the parliamentarians an opportunity to remember their former colleagues who had died in road accidents earlier. In fact the theme of the rally was Road Safety.

Senior MP Rajiv Pratap Rudy, said, “Road accidents are increasingly leading to a large number of deaths and injuries. In fact there is no better example to illustrate than parliamentarians who spend nearly 80 per cent of their time travelling on roads. Several of our distinguished parliamentary colleagues have tragically lost their lives in road accidents. This rally underlines the importance of driving safely and also fondly remembers our late colleagues whom we lost prematurely.”

In fact Rudy’s words have a ring of irony. Notable politicians like Sahib Singh Verma, Rajesh Pilot, Yerran Naidu, Dayanand Sahay, Mahendar Singh Bhati, Munawwar Hasan, Srikant Jichkar and Abrar Ahmad have died in road accidents.

Jitendra Singh, Minister of State, Youth Affairs and Sports said, “A lot of people are killed in road accidents due to careless driving. We jump red signals, drive without seat belts and helmets on. We should follow the traffic rules, which are for our safety. I would like to have more road safety and awareness programmes taking place.”

The rally was flagged off by the Vice President of India, Hamid Ansari who sat in a Morgan, a vintage sports car for a few seconds and posed for the lensmen.

The rally started from the Constitution Club of India and culminated at the same place after covering a distance of nearly 40 kilometres.

Besides parliamentarians there were Defence personnel, media persons, a few diplomats and of course India’s youngest Formula 1 driver Karun Chandok. Navin Jindal drove his Volkswagen Touareg taking along his dog. RPN Singh was with his family driving a Honda Accord and the 80-year-old J.K.Jain drove his Honda City.

Gagan Sethi from Aaj Tak was declared the winner with parliamentarian Kamlesh Paswan as the first runners up and P.K. Singh from All India Radio the second runners-up.





Recent Article in METRO PLUS

The leader of the packImran Khan with Wasim Akram, Zahid Fazal and Moin Khan before the famous World Cup final in Melbourne in 1992.PHOTO: THE HINDU ARCHIVES

The reverse swing

Osman Samiuddin chronicles the tumultuous history of Pakistan cricket with élan in his book “The Unquiet Ones” »