Twenty teams, nine sponsors and one stage. The Hindu NXg Campus Jive prelims has set the stage for the finale.ARCHANA SUBRAMANIAN

If there’s one thing that you wouldn’t mind being dragged out for on a lazy Sunday it is some good music and equally good dancing. The preliminary round of The Hindu NXg Campus Jive 2013, an intercollegiate dance competition, was a runaway success with around 30 college teams taking over the stage at the Arignar Anna Arangam Auditorium to make it to the finals on December 7.

Loud music just got louder with the audience cheering for their favourite teams. Hip hop seemed to be the teams’ favourite this year too, as freestyle, Krumping, Stepping/Gumboots, wacking, punking, locking, popping, b-boying, b-girling and Voguing were some of the hip hop moves that stormed the stage.

MOP Vaishnav College for Women was probably the only team that also tried its hand at fusion.

“All these teams can easily give the professionals a run for their money. There was dance and energy,” said Anjan, founder of Choreo Culture and Hip Hop International and creator of America’s Best Dance Crew (MTV) who co-judged it with actor Nishant Appu.

Performing for three minutes, each of the teams was judged on creativity, staging, spacing, formations, level changes, showmanship, intensity, confidence, stage presence, entertainment value/crowd appeal and variety of dance styles. After a heated showdown, the teams making their way to the finals are: Anna University, M.O.P Vaishnav College for Women, Women’s Christian College (Morning shift), Women’s Christian College (Evening shift), Loyola College, SSN College, MIT, NIT Trichy, Sashtra University, Thanjavur, SRM Medical Colllege, SRM Engineering College (DNA crew) and Stella Maris College

Freestyle Battle

With an effort to promote hip hop culture in the city, a new segment was added in this year’s edition of The Hindu NXg Campus Jive 2013. A three-member team got to represent their college for an impromptu freestyle challenge on stage. Four colleges battled it out and finally Anna University emerged as the freestyle champions. A portion of this will be staged again at the finals on December 7.