Catch the Mathrubhumi Amrita film awards on Amrita TV

M athrubhumi Amrita Film Awards (MAFA), the awards-cum-entertainment extravaganza that reeled out to packed crowds at Marine Drive, Kochi, will be telecast on January 16 and January 17 from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m on Amrita TV.

Designed to honour achievers in Malayalam cinema, MAFA also recognises talented performers in the Tamil and Hindi film industries this year.

Instead of announcing the names of the awardees in advance, 11 of the 27 award categories, which were decided based on SMS votes, were declared on stage thus keeping the viewers as well as nominees on tenterhooks till the last moment.


Pazhassi Raja, the historical blockbuster that raised Malayalam films to the world stage through its technical expertise, won the award for best picture while Ranjith won the best director title for his off-beat entertainer Paleri Manikyam- Oru Pathira Kolapathakam. Mammootty's acting prowess in movies Pazhassi Raja, Paleri Manikyam and Loudspeaker baged him the best actor award while Kavya Madhavan won the best actress award for her role in Benares.

Manoj K. Jayan and Padmapriya bagged the awards for best supporting actor and best supporting actress respectively for their roles in Pazhassi Raja.

The best screenplay award went to Jayaraj ( Loudspeaker) and the best lyricist award to ONV ( Pazhassi Raja).

Vidyasagar won the best music director award for Neelathamara while Jayachandran and Swetha Mohan took home the awards for best playback singers. Srinivasan and Lekshmi Rai won the best actor and best actress award respectively.

Oscar-winner Resul Pookutty was given the prince of sound award, Asin the pride of Kerala award and Innocent the best comic hero award.

Jagathy bagged the most versatile hero award.

Mammootty was awarded the Chalathitra Prathibha award. The lifetime achievement award was given to music director M.K. Arjunan.

Surya received the Best Actor in Tamil Award from Mammootty and Shreya was the Best Actress in Tamil .