The audio release of “Kanthaswamy” saw 30 villages being adopted by celebrities

This was an event with a difference. Nearly 30 VIPs from various sections of society, including producers Sathyajothi Thyagrarajan and Abirami Ramanathan, adopted a village each and were present for the audio release of “Kanthaswamy”. The people from the villages were also part of the event, which saw A.R. Rahman releasing the audio CD.

That aside, Shriya Saran, Vikram, music director Devi Sri Prasad and a host of other stars were seen grooving to the film’s numbers on stage.

Speaking about “Kanthaswamy”, director Susi Ganesan said he had enjoyed making the film. “Vikram and Shriya Saran have done a wonderful job,” he added.

There are eight songs in the album, and Vikram has crooned four numbers. His rendition is so good, it is difficult to believe he is not a professional singer.

The first song, “Excuse me”, has been rendered by ‘Chiyaan’ Vikram with Suchitra Karthik Kumar. Here, Vikram has more of talking to do than singing. But, he scores as a singer in “Mambo maamiya” with Rita. In “Idhellam dupe”, the actor teams up with lyricist Viveka, who has penned all the songs. The theme number “Kanthaswamy” is sung by Devi Sri Prasad.

There is a remix version of this too. Rita has sung a solo number, the interesting, rhythmic “Allegro”. Vikram teams up with Priya Hemesh for “Meow Meow”. The last number “Enperu Meenakumari” is sung by Malathy. Just one thought: If there had been at least one melody number, the album would have been more enjoyable.