Honour for acharyas

Music Forum, Chennai Chapter, is organising a special event to honour gurus on the Saraswati Puja Day (Sept. 27) at Youth Hostel, Indira Nagar, Adyar, at 6 p.m. Nine gurus are being honoured followed by concerts of their disciples.

The following is the list of musicians to be felicitated. T.K. Govinda Rao, R.Vedavalli, T.N. Seshagopalan, P.S. Narayanaswamy, Chingelput Ranganathan, B. Krishnamurthy,V. Subrahmanian,Suguna Purushothaman and Seetha Narayanan.


In connection with its 58th year art festival, The Mylapore Fine Arts Club, conducts music competition (vocal and instrumental) from October 11 (only on Sundays). Applications will be available at the sabha premises, 45, Musiri Subramaniam Salai, Mylapore, from October 1. For more details dial 2499 7755.