Music fete

Hyderabad Music Circle is organising its 1 st Annual Music Festival at Thyagaraya Gana Sabha from December 1 to 3. Recitals by K. Padmavathy, D.V. Mohana Krishna, Varanasi Sri Sowmya, D. Srinivas and Lalitha and Haripriya are some of the highlights of the event as also traditional music concerts by Komunduri Seshadri, S.K.Venkatachary, S.Uma Devi, Kamala Ramani, Y.Ramaprabha, Neetha Chandrasekhar, D.Srinivas and others. For details contact Hyderabad Music Circle, Srinivasa Nagar, near Skandagiri Temple, Tel: 27504762.

Vivid recitals

Sri Sathya Sai Seva Organisation, Shivam, will be celebrating the 81st year of the advent of Sri Sathya Sai Baba. Hindustani music, santoor recital, by Pandit Tarun Bhattacharya, Carnatic vocal by Ranjani and Gayathri, dance ballet Sai Guruvandana by Rajeshwari Sainath and disciples, Annamacharya kritis by Balakrishna, Hindustani music, sitar recital, by Ustad Shahid Pervez and Bhakta Ramadas-- a dance ballet by Manjula Ramaswamy and students of Rama Nataka Nikethan will be held as part of the celebrations, from November 11 to 23.

Vocal concert

N. Subbalakhsmi presented a vocal recital at a concert organised by Hyderabad Music Circle and Sri Thyagaraya Gana Sabha. Her earlier recitals as part of Spirit of Unity Concerts for Universal Integration conducted by Bharat Cultural Integration Committee and in Madras Telugu Academy received rave reviews. Subbalakhsmi learnt Carnatic music from Tampella Suryanarayana and currently taking advanced coaching from D. Seshachari (Hyderabad Brothers). For the recent concert she was accompanied by N.C. Ananthakrishna on violin and P. Vidyasagar on mridangam.

Cultural competitions

The Navya Nataka Samiti, Hyderabad, will conduct the 40th All India Competition in music and dance during the last week of January, 2007. The competition will be conducted in the following disciplines. Music - carnatic (vocal, veena, violin and mridangam), Hindustani (vocal, sitar and tabla) and dance — Bharatanatyam, Kuchipudi, Andhra Natyam and Kathak. Each category will have three groups: seniors (16-25 years); juniors (11-15 years); sub-juniors (6-10 years). Winners in the senior category will be awarded the Niranjan Shaw rolling trophy worth Rs. 10,000 and individual prizes will be given to all the winners in the senior, junior and sub-junior category. For outstation participants, both boarding and lodging will be arranged free of cost.Entry fee for the competition is Rs.60 (seniors), Rs, 50 (juniors) and Rs. 40 (sub-juniors). Entry forms duly filled in should reach the samiti or the YMCA, Hyderabad, on or before November 30. Rules and syllabus can be obtained from the samiti at 1-8-522/12, Chikkadpalli, Hyderabad - 500 020 (Ph: 2766 1403/6636 1660) or YMCA, Narayanguda, Hyderabad - 500 029 (Ph: 2756 4670).