Kodai Nataka Vizha

Kartik Fine Arts is organising its 17th Kodai Nataka Vizha from April 24-May 3 and on May 5 at Mylapore Fine Arts Club auditorium. Nine troupes are participating in the festival, which will be inaugurated by T. S. Krishnamurthy, former Election Commissioner and presided by L. Sabaretnam, chairman, Kartik Fine Arts. A three-judge committee will adjudge the best actor, actress, director, storywriter, comedian and play. A total cash prize of Rs. 47,000 will be awarded to the winners. The audience also will get a prize for the best critical review. Prize distribution ceremony will be on June 1 at Narada Gana Sabha Hall. The troupes selected to stage the play will be given remuneration and there is no entry fee. Admission invitations to rasikas will be available from April 22 at Mylapore Times, Adyar Times, Sri Krishna Sweets, Adyar and Mylapore outlets and the venue. For details, contact secretary R. Rajagopal on 2499 7788.


The Maha Kumbabhishekam of Sri Veera Anjaneya temple, Tirunaraiyur, Nachiyarkoil, Kumbakonam, is scheduled to take place on April 24 at 9 a.m.