The 267{+t}{+h}aradhana of Narayana Tirtha was celebrated from February 16 to 18 at his Brindavanam, Thirupoonthuruthy. The festivities commenced on February 16 with Veda Parayanam followed by Bhiksha vandanam and a discourse. Chanting of Lalitha Sahasranamam and Vishnu Sahasranamam by All India Vishnu Sahasranama Cultural Federation was the highlight of the programme.

Dr. Anita Parthasarathy of Chennai inaugurated the programme. Welcoming the gathering, A. Ramji, patron of the Trust, announced that in 2014 the Trust and Aradhana Committee will be celebrating the 50{+t}{+h}year aradhana. He emphasised that the activities of the Trust for propagating the works of Narayana Tirtha needed the active support of various cultural and philanthrophic organisations. L. Sebaratnam, chairman, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Chennai, who presided over the function, said that the Bhavan is prepared to host a three-day event on Narayana Tirtha in Chennai this year.

Leela Samson, chairperson of the Sangeet Natak Akademi, New Delhi, recounted the great contribution of the saint composer to music and dance. She commended the efforts of the Aradhana Committee and the Trust for its activities and said that Sangeet Natak Academy will consider its support to the Golden Jubilee of the Trust’s Aradhana celebrations next year.

V. Jayaraman, Chartered Accountant from Chennai, talked about the spiritual and philosophical contents of Sri Krishna Leela Tarangini. Thiripoonthuruthy V. Venkatesan offered the vote of thanks.

The three-day festival included Tarangam concerts; Harikatha; namasankirtanam; and discourse.

Tarangam concerts were also held on the occasion in which students of Taranga Vidyasala, Thanjavur, and Thirukkattupalli Sivaswamy Iyer School participated.

The Trust felicitated the following persons with ‘Sri Narayana Tirtha Seva Nirata’ title: V.V. Krishna Rao, an eminent scholar from Kakinada, and former office-bearers such as S. Venkatararaman, R. Viswajit Vijayasim, Varagur S. Sankaranarayanan and V. Lakshmi Narayananan. T.S. Ramachandra Rao, renowned musicologist of Vijayawada, conferred the title.