VDS Arts Academy celebrates anniversary

print   ·   T  T  
Honour: Nirmala Prasad, principal, MOP Vaishnav College for Women and singer Sikkil Gurucharan awarding Bala Bhaskara Award to N.S. Aruna.
Honour: Nirmala Prasad, principal, MOP Vaishnav College for Women and singer Sikkil Gurucharan awarding Bala Bhaskara Award to N.S. Aruna.

VDS Arts Academy, Nungambakkam High Road, celebrated its 15 {+t} {+h} anniversary and the Centenary year of Sri. V.D. Swami (on whose name the academy has been started) from Dec. 21.

The inauguration was presided over by K.K. Maheswari, secretary for M.O.P. Vaishnav College for Women. Dr. N. Ramani presented a flute concert. Young artists were given prizes/medals/mementos during the 13-day celebrations. Winners and runners of VDS top ten of 2010 gave performances. Leading artists, who participated in this music festival, were Sikkil C. Gurucharan, Vasudharavi, Mahathi Vidya Kalyanaraman, N. Bhiravi and N. Malavi, Kunnakudi M. Balamuralikrishna and K. Bharath Sunder.

The valedictory was presided over by Nirmala Prasad, principal of MOP Vaishanav College for Women. Sikkil Gurucharan gave a vocal concert. The Academy gave tambura, mridangam and violin for special prize winners and Nataraja statute was given to leading dance artists. It distributed medals for excellent performer among the budding artists and also mementos for encouraging the budding artists who gave an outstanding performance.

Prize winners

VDS Arts Academy also distributed yearly awards of Bala Bhaskara with Radel Sparshini Tambura for outstanding vocalists. R. Vaishnavi (for 2009) and N.S. Aruna (for 2010). VDS Arts Academy also recognised and gave Panchaloka Nataraja Statue to Gayathri, Megani Mehnitha and V. Anjana for dance (for 2009) and to V. Rajalakshmi, R. Archana and V. Vidya Radha (for 2010).

It gave violin to Sriram Sridhar (for 2009), Shraddha Ravindran (for 2010) and mridangam to Sumesh Narayanan (for 2009), S. Harish Kumar (for 2010). It also gave away the awards and conferred the title under the name ‘Kalaacharya Sironmani' to leading gurus: vocal-Prema Hariharan (2009) Raji Gopalakrishnan (2010); violin-M.S. Gopalakrishnan (2009) Radha Sundaresan (2010); mridangam-T.K. Murthy (2009) Tanjore Padma (2010) and dance Lakshmi Ramaswamy (2009) Roja Kannan (2010).

M. Chander, president of the Academy, welcomed the gathering and K. Sridhar, vice-president, proposed the vote of thanks.

VDS Arts Academy was inaugurated by Sangeetha Kalanidhi Dr. Semmangudi R. Srinivasa Iyer in 1995. It has been giving stage opportunity to perform in classical arts such as music instruments, Bharatanatyam by the budding artists from the age group of five to 20. The Academy calls this Talent Revealing Opportunity Programme (TROP) under which 2000 budding artists have been registered in the past 15 years and the Academy conducted 2,900 programmes in these 15 years consisting 2,300 music/ instrumental programmes and 600 dance programmes.




Recent Article in DOWN TOWN

NGO conducts essay contest for school teachers

Nandini Voice for the Deprived is conducting an essay contest for school teachers of Tamil Nadu on the subject “High Marks in Tamil Nadu... »