Ministry de-allocates eight coal blocks

print   ·   T  T  

They were not developed within the stipulated time-frame

Mining activity at Coal India— FILE PHOTO
Mining activity at Coal India— FILE PHOTO

The Ministry of Coal has issued de-allocation letters for eight coal blocks after a decision taken by the Inter-Ministerial Group.

“Government has issued letters for at least eight coal blocks given to a single company or jointly,” ministry sources told PTI.

Among the companies affected by the de-allocation were Grasim Industries, Gujarat Ambuja Cement, Lafarge, Electrotherm and Kesoram Industries.

Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal had said the process to de-allocate 13 blocks was underway.

The blocks were de-allocated by the government as they were not developed within the stipulated time-frame, and for which satisfactory explanations were not given.

The blocks de-allocated were Bhaskarpara allocated to Electrotherm India and Grasim Industries.

The Durgapur-II/Sariya block was allocated to B. D. Power, Dahegaon and Makardhokra-IV block was jointly allocated to IST Steel & Power, Gujarat Ambuja Cement and Lafarge India.

Gondkhari block

The Gondkhari block was allocated for Maharashtra Seamless, Dhariwal Infra (P) Ltd. and Kersoram Industries. The Marki Mangli II, III and IV blocks were meant for Virangana Steel and Chinora and Warora (West) for Fieldmining and Ispat.

Ramanwara North block in Madhya Pradesh was allocated to SKS Ispat and Power and Nered Malegoan block was given to Gupta Mettalics and Gupta Coal. — PTI



Recent Article in BUSINESS

Bhaskar Pramanik

Microsoft pitches for ‘White-Fi’ to provide last mile connectivity

Microsoft is looking at starting a pilot project of its ‘White-Fi’ technology that uses the unused spectrum in frequencies used for broad... »