Staff Correspondent

CHENNAI: Tulsi Tanti, Chairman, Suzlon Energy, a leading wind power company, has been named the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year 2006.

Seven other successful entrepreneurs received these coveted awards across various categories at an award banquet here on Thursday from Kamal Nath, Union minister for Commerce and Industry, who was the Chief Guest at the ceremony.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred on Karsanbhai Patel, Chairman, Nirma. Vikram Akula, CEO & founder of SKS Microfinance, was named the Start-Up Entrepreneur of the year.

The award for the Manager Entrepreneur Of The Year was given to S. Ramadorai, CEO, Tata Consultancy Services (TCS).

New category

A new category award for Business Transformation was introduced this year, where Jignesh Shah, Managing Director of Financial Technologies, was selected as the winner.

Anil Agarwal, Founder & CEO of Vedanta Resources, was awarded the Manufacturing category award.

Kishore Biyani, Managing Director, Pantaloon Retail, was selected as the winner in the services category, while Girish Agarwal, Director, Writers & Publishers (Dainik Bhaskar), won the award in the Information, Communications and Entertainment (ICE) category.