Union Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal on Wednesday said the Coal ministry had given in-principle approval for allotment of five coal blocks to four NTPC thermal power plants in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Orissa and Madhya Pradesh.

The coal blocks would be allocated through the government dispensation route to NTPC's four power projects — 500 MW in Rai Bareilly, UP; 1,600 MW at Kudgi in Karnataka; 1,600 MW at Gajmara in Orissa and 3,960 MW at Barethi in Madhya Pradesh. NTPC has 15 coal-based and seven gas-based power stations.

Earlier, speaking at the conference, Mr. Jaiswal stressed on urgent need to facilitate production of coal through proactive measures to meet increasing demand of coal.