TDP, YSRC neck and neck in Seemandhra

M.L. Melly Maitreyi
print   ·   T  T  
A TDP MPTC member celebrating his victory, in Srikakulam on Tuesday.
A TDP MPTC member celebrating his victory, in Srikakulam on Tuesday.

A day after the Telugu Desam Party put up an impressive performance in the municipal elections in Seemandhra, it was locked in a close fight with YSR Congress in Zilla Parishad elections while the Congress virtually faced a rout.

Counting of votes was taken up for 10,092 mandal parishad territorial constituencies and 653 zilla parishad territorial constituencies in the13 districts of Seemandhra for which elections were held in two phases on April 6 and 11.

The counting of ballot papers in all the counting centres was going on even after midnight. As per the latest reports, TDP was leading with 4,445 MPTCs and the YSRC closely behind with 3,586 MPTCs.

Congress, bearing the brunt of post-bifurcation blues, could garner only 132 MPTCs while Left parties bagged 24 MPTCs.

But in ZPTCs, the two main parties are heading for a close finish with TDP bagging 235 ZPTCs and YSRC 169.

The TDP has already bagged Vizianagaram and West Godavari ZPs while Prakasam went to the YSRCP. The TDP is leading in Srikakulam, East Godavari, Krishna, Visakhapatnam, Guntur, Chittoor and Anantapur. YSRC is doing better in Kadapa, Kurnool and Nellore.

Meanwhile, State Election Commissioner P. Ramakanth Reddy announced that repoll would be held for three MPTCs in Nellore and two in Eluru on May 18.

More In: Today's Paper
Group Sites
The Hindu தி இந்து Business Line Sportstar Frontline The Hindu Centre The Hindu Hub Images Classifieds RoofandFloor



Recent Article in Today's Paper

Godse statue

Hindu Mahasabhabid foiledThe much publicised proposal of the Akhil Bharatiya Hindu Mahasabha of installing a... »