Krishnaprasad and Raghava M.

They will exclusively investigate cases relating to illicit liquor, gambling, drug peddling

Bangalore city and eight districts to have two such police stations

Other districts to have a police station each

Bangalore: Now, it is time for special police stations — to exclusively investigate cases relating to illicit liquor, gambling, drug peddling, prostitution and land encroachment.

According to a notification issued by the Government, as many as 41 special police stations will be opened in the State with at least one such police station in each district.

While Bangalore city and eight districts have been sanctioned two special police stations each, the other districts will have one each.

In Bangalore, the Special Police Station (East) will have jurisdiction over all the areas falling under North, North-East, and East police divisions, while the Special Police Station (West) will have jurisdiction over Central, South, West and South-East divisions.

Bangalore Rural, Bagalkot, Tumkur, Belgaum, Uttara Kannada, Shimoga, Kolar and Mysore also will have two special police stations.

Cases under the Karnataka State Excise Act, 1965, the Karnataka State Lottery Rules, 1999, and the Karnataka Prevention of Dangerous Activities of Bootleggers, Drug Offenders, Gamblers, Goondas, Immoral Traffic Offenders and Slum Grabbers Act, 1985 (commonly known as Goonda Act) will be dealt with by these police stations. Excise Enforcement and Lottery Prohibition Cell, headed by an Inspector-General of Police (IGP), will monitor these stations.

Though these stations have exclusive jurisdiction over the offences mentioned, regular police stations will continue to have the powers to book cases under these Acts.

Home Minister V.S. Acharya said that at least 16 special police stations had started functioning since March.

Low-key affair

Opening of the police stations was a low-key affair owing to the election code of conduct in force.

S.K. Venugopal, IGP of the Cell, said that two special police stations in Bangalore would be opened as soon as suitable buildings were identified.

He said that each of the 41 stations would have 32 civil police personnel and 32 reserve police personnel (called striking force).

More In: Today's Paper