Gargi Parsai

NEW DELHI:Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee on Tuesday accepted the resignation of five Janata Dal (United) MPs who quit from the lower house last week to protest the “inaction” of the Central government in connection with the attacks on north Indians in Maharashtra.

Four of the five MPs, namely Prabhunath Singh, Rajiv Ranjan Singh ‘Lalan’, Kailash Baitha and Meena Singh, appeared before the Speaker at his residence here. Mr. Chatterjee, who is recuperating from an illness, spoke to each member and having satisfied himself, accepted the resignations, his office told The Hindu here.

The fifth JD(U) MP, George Fernandes, who is unwell, spoke to the Speaker on telephone and expressed his desire to quit his Muzaffarpur seat over the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena issue.

Separately in a press note, the National Democratic Alliance convenor said that “he had subjected himself to the discipline of his party.”

“This does not mean that I do not care for the people of Maharashtra. However, it would be even better if Bihar members from all parties in both the houses of Parliament also resign their seats to demonstrate unity of purpose,” said Mr. Fernandes who has been an MP.

JD (U) parliamentary party leader Prabhunath Singh said the Speaker asked them to re-consider their decision but later accepted the resignations.

More In: Today's Paper