Re-polling in eight booths of Mewat that falls under the Gurgaon parliamentary constituency was conducted peacefully on Thursday.

The Election Commission had ordered re-polling in these booths following complaints of large-scale rigging. All these booths had witnessed more than 95 per cent polling on April 10 when Haryana went to polls in the third phase of polling.

In today’s re-poll, the polling percentage at the lone booth of Punhana Assembly segment remained unchanged, while the turnout at Ferozepur Jhirka and Sohna went down considerably.

At lone booth of Sohna, polling went down by almost seven per cent. Similarly, in three booths of Ferozepur Jhirka, the polling percentage was around 65 per cent against 95 per cent earlier.

The three booths at Nuh, however, showed a slight increase in voting percentage compared with the turnout on April 10.

Returning Officer Shekhar Vidyarthi and the Election Observer visited the booths and ensured peaceful re-polls.

The re-polling is not expected to have any impact on the results to be declared on May 16.

The Gurgaon parliamentary constituency this time witnessed a triangular contest between BJP’s Rao Inderjit Singh, INLD’s Zakir Hussain and AAP’s Yogendra Yadav.