EC also announces dates for Assembly by-elections in seven States

It will be a mini general election next month. The Election Commission on Friday announced elections/by-elections to the Legislative Assemblies of 10 States. These include regular elections to the Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura Assemblies, each having 60 members. While Tripura will have poll on February 14, the elections in Meghalaya and Nagaland are scheduled for February 23. The Assembly by-elections in Alagpur (Assam), Kalyanpur (SC) (Bihar) and Chandgad (Maharashtra) will be held on February 24 and in Chalfilh (ST) (Mizoram), Bhatpar (Uttar Pradesh), Nalhati Birbhum, English Bazar and Rejinagar (West Bengal) and Moga (Punjab) on February 23. Counting of votes in all 10 States will be taken up simultaneously on February 28. Chief Election Commissioner V.S. Sampath told journalists here that the model code of conduct had come into effect immediately and was applicable to the Central and the State governments, besides the political parties/contestants.

While Tripura has an electoral strength of about 23.52 lakh, the electorate in Meghalaya and Nagaland is 14.81 lakh and 11.81 lakh respectively