Hectic lobbying is under way for securing the Congress ticket in the forthcoming by-election to Station Ghanpur constituency in Warangal district.

Senior leaders are learnt to have put forth their candidature for the seat which was vacated by the resignation of T. Rajaiah who subsequently shifted loyalty to the Telangana Rashtra Samiti.

While the TRS retained Mr. Rajaiah for the by-poll, the Telugu Desam Party finalised the name of former Minister Kadiam Srihari, who represented the constituency in the past and is considered a strong leader.

Congress Member of Parliament from Warangal, S. Rajaiah, is learnt to have proposed the name of his son S. Anil and former Minister B. Arogyam offered himself as the candidate at a meeting convened here on Monday by Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy to review the ruling party's prospects in Warangal district.

Two other leaders, Warangal district SC cell former president Gangarapu Amruta Rao and SC/ST Commission former member Rajarapu Pratap are also in the fray for the Congress party ticket.

The meeting was attended by Ministers Ponnala Lakshmaiah and B. Saraiah, Government Chief Whip G. Venkataramana Reddy and others.