Y.S. Vivekananda Reddy declines offer on moral grounds

Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan on Saturday nominated five persons to the Legislative Council of whom four are full-time Congress leaders and a woman self-help group leader from East Godavari district belonging to the Scheduled Caste community.

The new MLCs are A. Chakrapani, D. Rajeshwar Rao, Reddivari Redappa Reddy, Farooq Hussain, and Anguri Lakshmi Shiva Kumari. Their names were notified on Saturday evening after Mr. Narasimhan cleared the list of names submitted by Chief Minister N. Kiran Kumar Reddy.

Three of them have been nominated after expiry of their term while two of them are first-timers to the House of Elders. Ms. Lakshmi Shiva Kumari fills the vacancy caused by the demise of Dr. K. Rajyalakshmi.

Mr. Chakrapani's re-nomination was along expected lines since he was Chairman of the Council when his tenure ended. Mr. D. Rajeshwar Rao is a senior Congress leader from Nizamabad while Mr. Reddivari Reddappa Reddy, who earlier represented the Local Authorities' Constituency from Chittoor, was given a second term. Senior Congress leader Farooq Hussain of Medak district and A. Lakshmi Shiva Kumari, SHG leader from East Godavari district, are the first-timers. The selection of the nominees belied the expectations of several aspirants whose names were doing the rounds since the past few days.

Y.S. Vivekananda Reddy, who unsuccessfully contested in the recent by-election to Pulivendula Assembly constituency, is reported to have declined the offer of the Congress leadership to be nominated to the Upper House. He is learnt to have turned down the offer on “moral grounds” claiming it would not be appropriate for him to accept the post after his defeat.

Former Speaker K.R. Suresh Reddy whose name was reportedly proposed by the Chief Minister is notable among the omissions. He was even tipped to be appointed as the Council Chairman or accommodated in the Cabinet if Mr. Kiran Kumar Reddy had his way, but the leadership preferred to retain the old guard.

KVP's influence

Mr. Hussain's name is said to have been recommended by APCC president D. Srinivas. Going by the selection of Mr. Reddappa Reddy and Mr. Rajeshwar Rao, both close associates of late Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, senior Congress leaders point to the hand of YSR's close aide K.V.P. Ramachandra Rao in the selection of the nominees.

More In: Today's Paper