Cross-voting baffles both Congressand YSR Congress

The last ditch efforts by Congress and YSR Congress (YSRC) to win the elections to District Cooperative Central Bank (DCCB)’s Governing Body proved to be inadequate in scuttling the TDP’s victory march. The YSRC had earlier resolved to abstain from voting citing the lack of strength that is required to win the chairman’s post, but the presidents of eight cooperative societies cast their votes in apparent disregard to the party’s resolution. The axe has fallen on them within no time as the YSRC was firm on getting rid of the defectors who have sailed with the Congress and also TDP to some extent. Out of 21 Directors of the DCCB, TDP bagged 16 and Congress two while three posts are to be filled on co-option basis.

Of the 152 presidents of Primary Agricultural Cooperative Societies (PACS), 129 cast their votes. Of these, eight PACS presidents owing allegiance to YSRC have reportedly voted for Congress and 10 of Congress to TDP.

In the final analysis, the TDP managed to win over a majority of the directors’ posts paving the way for its candidate Mummaneni Venkata Subbaiah to become the bank chairman. It is just a formality now as only three slots remained to be filled by nominated members. Attempts by Congress party to wean away PACS presidents of YSRC failed as TDP emerged victorious with support of its PACS presidents who stuck to their ground. The Congress and YSRC are now grappling with the question as to who helped the TDP in spoiling whatever little chance they had to win the prestigious DCCB. The Congress party is upset that the presence of three Ministers, including Minister for Cooperation Kasu Venkata Krishna Reddy, in the district could not stall the TDP’s race to the finish.