Reversing the trend of losses for their party in a string of Assembly by-elections, Congress candidates gave a good account of themselves in the cooperative elections held all over the State on Thursday.

In a surprising turn of events in the elections, the Telugu Desam candidates put up a good show while the debutant, YSR Congress, fared well only in Kadapa and Anantapur. For Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), which is spearheading separate Telangana movement, results came as a big disappointment. This was in contrast to impressive wins posted by YSRC and TRS in one Assembly by-election after another.

Elections were held to the managing committees for 955 out of about 2,900 Primary Agricultural Cooperative Societies (PACS) in the State in the first phase. Although elections were held on non-party basis, candidates had distinct political affiliations.

Even as results trickled in till late in the evening, the Congress had won 454 societies, followed by TDP with 276, YSRC 163 and the TRS 60. Barring West Godavari and Khammam where Telugu Desam led and Anantapur where YSRC was in the lead, the Congress was in majority in all other districts. The TDP won 19 and Congress 6 out of 39 PACS that went to polls in West Godavari. The TDP was elected unopposed to 33 and Congress 29 in the same district. In the Communist bastion of Khammam, the TDP won 28 and Congress 11 out of 48 societies. The Left parties – CPI, CPI (M) and CPI-ML (New Democracy) – won 8 societies in the district. The YSRC was elected in 23 societies and Congress and TDP in 13 and 10 respectively in Anantapur district.

It was easy going for Congress in Karimnagar, East Godavari, Vizianagaram, Srikakulam, Warangal, Mahabubnagar, Nizamabad, Kurnool, Chittoor, Prakasam, Nellore, Visakhapatnam, Nalgonda and Adilabad. The TRS and Congress were neck-to-neck in Medak winning 17 and 16 societies respectively.

The election was significant for the rout of TRS in its strongholds. In Warangal, the party won just 2 out of 31 societies while the Congress won 20 and TDP 8. The TRS managed to win only 14 of the 72 societies in Karimnagar whereas the Congress bagged 40 and the TDP and YSRC 4 each.