Special Correspondent

Rajahmundry City Congress chief quits his post

HYDERABAD: Dissidence continued to simmer in both Congress and TDP on the last day of withdrawal of nominations in Rajahmundry, Hindupur and Visakhapatnam.

On Tuesday, Rajahmundry City Congress president Ramineedu Murali, a supporter of Amalapuram MP G.V. Harshakumar, resigned from his post.

His associate Srinivasa Yadav whose name was announced two days ago from 28th division but was denied `B' form in preference to P. Tata Rao, staged a dharna with followers before the party office.

In-fighting came out in the open as two groups one led by Minister for Roads and Buildings J. Ramamohana Rao and the other by Amalapuram MP unabashedly fought with each other and hurled abuses near the City Congress office in the run-up to the Rajahmundry Municipal Corporation polls. At close of nominations on Tuesday, 193 contestants remained in the fray.

In Visakhapatnam, some Congress dissidents tonsured half of their heads to register their protest at not being given party ticket by the high command. Some others burnt an effigy representing Visakhapatnam-II MLA S. Rangaraju near the gurudwara. The TDP, on the other hand, was faced with the prospect of a large number of rebels remaining in the fray.

In Hindupur of Anantapur district, the Congress and the TDP traded charges of appeasing, luring and even threatening rebels to quit the fray.

However, their tactics proved to be effective only to a small extent as a large number of rebels refused to bow out of the fray.

The TDP alleged that Congress henchmen kidnapped its candidate for 29th ward Roshan Vali but the latter succeeded in escaping the kidnappers near Pamidi.

More In: Today's Paper