Special Correspondent

Poll notification on July 22

Last date for withdrawal August 1

CHENNAI: By-elections to five constituencies currently unrepresented in the Assembly are scheduled to be held on August 18, a press release issued by the Election Commission of India announced.

The notification for the polls to the Ilayankudi, Thondamuthur, Cumbum, Bargur and Srivaikuntam constituencies would be issued on July 22, with July 29 being the last date for filing of nominations. After scrutiny of nominations on July 30, the last date for withdrawal of candidates would be August 1. Counting of votes would be taken up on August 21, the release said. Except for Srivaikuntam, the electoral rolls for all constituencies had already been revised and published.

Revised rolls

The revised electoral rolls for Srivaikuntam would be published on July 20, the release added. The by-polls to the first three constituencies were forced following the resignation of the respective members on the eve of the Lok Sabha elections: Ilayangudi – R.S.Rajakannappan, Thondamuthur – M. Kannappan, Cumbum – E. Ramakrishnan.

The Bargur seat fell vacant after M. Thambidurai resigned following his election to the Karur Lok Sabha seat. Srivaikuntam fell vacant after sitting MLA D. Selvaraj died on July 5.

EVMs to be used

In spite of vehement protests by many political parties in the State, the ECI said Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) would be used in all the polling stations.

More In: Today's Paper