DMK to contest all three Chennai seats

print   ·   T  T  
Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and DMK president M.Karunanidhi hands over the seat sharing agreement to TNCC president K.V. Thangkabalu at Anna Arivalayam in Chennai on Sunday. —
Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and DMK president M.Karunanidhi hands over the seat sharing agreement to TNCC president K.V. Thangkabalu at Anna Arivalayam in Chennai on Sunday. —

B. Kolappan

It will be a direct fight between DMK and PMK in five seats

CHENNAI: The list of the Lok Sabha constituencies the DMK, the Congress and other allies will contest was released on Sunday by Chief Minister and DMK president M. Karunanidhi.

The DMK has retained all the three Chennai constituencies: South Chennai, Central Chennai and North Chennai. It had been winning the seats since 1996.

The other seats the party will contest are: Tiruvallur (reserved), Sriperumbudur, Arakkonam, Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Kallakurichi, Namakkal, Nilgiris (reserved), Pollachi, Karur, Perambalur, Nagapattinam (reserved), Thanjavur, Madurai, Ramanathapuram, Tuticorin and Kanyakumari.

The Congress has got Kancheepuram (reserved), Arani, Salem, Erode, Tiruppur, Coimbatore, Dindigul, Tiruchi, Cuddalore, Mayiladuthurai, Sivaganga, Theni, Virudhunagar, Tenkasi (reserved), Tirunelveli and Puducherry.

The Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) will contest in Chidambaram and Villupuram, both reserved constituencies.

IUML gets Vellore

The Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) will contest in Vellore, which was retained by it in the last election.

The DMK will face its former ally, the PMK, in Sriperumbudur, Arakkonam, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai and Kallakurichi. The VCK will take on the PMK in Chidambaram.

In Puducherry, the fight will be between the Congress and the PMK. In 2004, the PMK got the seat when it was part of the DMK-Congress alliance.

The Nilgiris seat, won by the former Congress Minister, R. Prabhu, in the past, has gone to the DMK. It is now a reserved constituency following delimitation.

The Congress has retained high-profile constituencies such as Sivaganga and Mayiladuthurai, won by Union Ministers P. Chidambaram and Mani Shankar Aiyar. It has also retained Salem, won by Tamil Nadu Congress Committee president K.V. Thangkabalu.

Sriperumbudur, however, has gone to the DMK. Congressmen had been demanding that the constituency, where the former Prime Minister, Rajiv Gandhi, was assassinated, should be allotted to it. Cuddalore, won by DMK’s Union Minister K. Venkatapathy in 2004, has been given to the Congress.

Gobichettipalayam and Tiruchengode, which Union Ministers EVKS Elangovan and Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan won last time, have disappeared owing to delimitation.

Perambalur, won by A. Raja, Union Communications and Information Technology Minister, is a general constituency now.

Earlier, Congress election committee members, comprising Mr. Chidambaram, Mr. Elangovan, Union Minister G.K. Vasan, Mr. Thangkabalu and Legislature Party leader D. Sudarsanam, held talks with DMK leaders.

More In: Today's Paper
Group Sites
The Hindu தி இந்து Business Line Sportstar Frontline The Hindu Centre The Hindu Hub Images Classifieds RoofandFloor



Recent Article in Today's Paper

ICC chairman N. Srinivasan (left) leaves after the election of Jagmohan Dalmiya (second from left) as BCCI president, in Chennai on Monday. Anurag Thakur (centre) was elected BCCI secretary in the meeting, presided over by Shivlal Yadav (second from right). Jyotiraditya Scindia, however, was unsuccessful in his bid to become vice-president of the Central Zone.— Photos: V. Ganesan

Dalmiya back at BCCI helm

Srinivasan’s group wins four of the five posts for which polls were held »