`Autograph,' `Eera Nilam' bag awards

print   ·   T  T  
THE WINNERS: (From left) Vikram, Laila, Jeyam Ravi and Jyothika
THE WINNERS: (From left) Vikram, Laila, Jeyam Ravi and Jyothika

Special Correspondent

Vikram, Laila get best actor awards for 2003; Jyothika, Jeyam Ravi for 2004

CHENNAI: Vikram and Laila bagged the best actor awards (for 2003) for their roles in `Pithamagan' while Jeyam Ravi (for `M.Kumaran s/o Mahalakshmi') and Jyothika (for `Perazhagan') won them for 2004.

The announcement was made by the State Government on Sunday. For 2003, `Eera Nilam' has been adjudged the best picture. `Power of Women' and `Parthipan Kanavu' got the second and third prizes. `Kamaraj' bagged a special prize. K.Palaniappan (`Parthipan Kanavu') has been chosen the best director, Unnikrishnan (`Ramachandra') the best male playback singer and Harini the best female playback singer (`Parthipan Kanavu').

Srikanth (`Parthipan Kanavu') and Meera Vasudevan (`Unnai Charanadainthen') got special prizes in the best actor category. Samuthirakani's story has been declared the best in 2003 (`Unnai Charanadainthen'); Thenmozhi's dialogues in `Eera Nilam' have been adjudged the best. Harris Jeyaraj (`Kakka Kakka') has been adjudged the best music director and Kabilan the best lyricist (`Parthipan Kanavu')

For 2004, `Autograph' has been chosen best picture and Cheran, the best director. `Viswathulasi' and `Kannadi Pookkal' got the second and third prizes while `M.Kumaran s/o Mahalakshmi' has been given a special prize. Hariharan and Chitra got the best playback singer awards. Kutti (`Dancer') and Sandhya (`Kaadal') got special prizes in the best actor category.Hariram's story (`Uyirosai') has been adjudged the best for 2004. Prasanna Kumar and Srikanth Deva (both for `M.Kumaran s/o Mahalakshmi') got awards for the best dialogues and the best music. Snehan has been adjudged the best lyricist (`Perazhagan').

Playback singers T.M.Sounderarajan and P.Susheela were chosen for the Arignar Anna Awards for 2003 and actors Rao Bala Saraswathi Devi and Sarada for 2004. Sheela and Kanchana were chosen for the MGR award for 2003 while T.D.Kusalakumari and Rajashri will get given the awards for 2004. V.S.Raghavan and K.R.Vijaya get the Nadigar Thilagam Sivaji Ganesan award for 2003.

For 2004, this award has been given to Lakshmi and Pushpalatha.

T.K.Ramamurthi and Ganesh, music directors, get the Kavignar Kannadasan awards for 2003 while S.Janaki and L.R.Easwari get the awards for 2004. The Thiagaraja Bhagavathar Award has been given to A.L.Raghavan and M.S.Rajeswari for 2003 (playback singers). For 2004, the awards were given to P.Leela (posthumous), S.P.Balasubramaniam and Vani Jeyaram.

Saidapet MLA Radha Ravi has been adjudged the best character artist for 2004 for his role in `Oru Murai Solli Vidu'.

The awards will be presented in Chennai on February 23.

More In: Today's Paper



Recent Article in Today's Paper

AIADMK’s mega plans prompt SC plea

Ad curbs will hit new schemes after Jayalalithaa returns as CM »