Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Siddique has won the State Government's award for the best telefilm actor and Ambili Devi for the best telefilm actor (woman) for the year 2005.

Siddique got the recognition for his performance in the telefilms `Samasya' and `Annum Mazhayayirunnu,' both telecast by Amrita TV. Ambili Devi's performance in `Amma,' also telecast by Amrita TV, won her the award.

The awards were announced here on Saturday by the chairpersons of three juries set up by the Kerala State Chalachitra Academy for the purpose. Critic Vijayakrishnan headed the jury in the `fiction category,' film director Harikumar the `non-fiction category' and writer George Onakkur the `creative category.'

`Annum Mazhayayirunnu,' produced and directed by B. Unnikrishnan, bagged several awards, including the one for the best telefilm. It won the award for the best script (B. Unnikrishnan), best supporting actor (P. Sreekumar), music direction (Manikanth Kadri) and art direction (C. Rajagopal).

The jury did not find any of the entries in the teleserial category fit for being adjudged the best. It gave `Agnisakshi,' telecast by Doordarshan, the award for the `second best' teleserial. P. K. Janardhana Kurup is its producer and Sreejith Paleri its director.

The following are the other award winners in the `fiction category': Second best telefilm: `Samasya,' produced by Amrita TV, directed by M. Mohanan. Best director: K. P. Sivakumar, `Koottilekku,' Jeevan TV. Best story: John Paul, `Amma,' Amrita TV. Best supporting actor (woman): Sona Nair, `Samasya,' Amrita TV and `Jalam,' Soorya TV.

Child star: Sanoosha, `Violin,' Asianet. Camera: T. G. Sreekumar, `Panthalayiniyilekku Oru Yathra,' Amrita TV. Editing: Akhil S. Menon, `Neekkam,' Amrita TV. Audio recording: Krishna Kumar, `Koottilekku,' Jeevan TV.

In the `fiction category,' `Nizhalattom,' telecast by Jeevan TV, won a special jury award. A. Ravikumar is its producer and Sakkir Matathil its director. C. K. Babu, for his performance as an actor in the telefilm `Janmam' telecast by Doordarshan, received the jury's special mention.

The award winners in the `non-fiction category' are the following: Best documentary: `Praleyasmitham Kailasam,' produced by Asianet, directed by Vinod Mankara. Best director: R. S. Ajayan, `Jahnavi Theere Everyday Heroes,' Asianet Cable Vision. News reader: S. Sarathchandran, Kairali TV, and Reshmi Maxim, Soorya TV. Compeerer: C. M. Mochitha, "Udayamritam,' Amrita TV. Commentator: Aliyar, `Malayalathinte Priya CJ,' Amrita TV.

Best anchor/interviewer: V. R. Sudheesh, interview with writer M. T. Vasudevan Nair, Asianet. Best anchor: Aleena Padikkal, `Butterflies,' Asianet. Investigative reporting: P. Shajahan, `Janadhipathyavum Pouravakashavum,' Asianet. Current affairs programme: `Savamuriyil Ningaleyum Kaathu,' Kairali TV. Children's programme: `Oridathu, Oridathu,' produced by Sreejith Narippatta, directed by Manu Jose, Indiavision.

`Atmakkalude Thozhan,' produced by Asianet and directed by J. S. Indukumar, received a special jury award in the `non-fiction category.'

Prabha Varma received the jury's special mention for his book `Drasya Madhyamangalum Samskaravum.'

More In: Today's Paper