Sandeep Joshi

NEW DELHI: The Municipal Corporation of Delhi on Monday cleared a list of 1,979 roads and streets spread across the Capital that would be designated "commercial areas" or come under "mixed land use" category, paving the way for legalising a majority of the illegally functioning shops and business establishments now facing sealing action in the wake of Supreme Court orders. A total of 682 roads have been included in the commercial area (roads with more than 70 per cent commercialisation, including Master Plan roads), while another 125 roads already notified as mixed land use streets would also be converted into commercial streets. Similarly, 573 roads would come under mixed land use category (streets with more than 50 per cent commercialisation and other roads), while 599 roads and streets in the E, F and G category colonies would become pedestrian shopping streets where no vehicular traffic would be allowed.

The MCD Standing Committee passed the list at a hurriedly convened meeting following the September 7 notification of the Union Urban Development Ministry amending the Master Plan for Delhi-2001. The list will now be sent to the Delhi Government for final approval before notification by the Lieutenant-Governor. The new notification is likely to give major relief to traders and residents who have been operating illegally in different parts of the Capital.

Major roads and areas that would be designated commercial include South Extension-I D Block, New Darya Ganj Road, Okhla Road, Jagdamba Road (Tughlakabad Extension), Main Badarpur Market, Lala Lajpat Rai Marg, Rakab Ganj Road, Sadar Nalla Road, Sheesh Mahal, Bhagirath Palace, Qutab Road, Mori Gate Main Road, Nicholson Road, Arya Samaj Road, Maharaja Agrasen Marg, Burari Road, Kingsway Road, Hamilton Road and parts of G. T. Karnal Road.

Other major roads in the list are Pusa Road, Ajmal Khan Road, Padam Singh Road, New Rohtak Road, Shankar Road, Najafgarh-Delhi Road, Sultanpuri Road, Tank Road, Narela-Lampur Road, Shalimar-Haiderpur Road, Chelmsford Road, Jhandewalan Road I and II, Marginal Bund Road, Main Market Road-Bhajanpura, Seemapuri Road, Kotla Road, Main Khichripur Road, Mandawali Main Road, New Patparganj Road, Vikas Marg, stretches of Nelson Mandela Road, Aurobindo Marg, Devli Road and M.B. Road.

Municipal Commissioner A. K. Nigam said colonies falling in categories A and B had not been covered in the list and sealing in these colonies would begin from September 16 in keeping with the Supreme Court orders.

More In: Today's Paper