Special Correspondent

Pretoria: The joint declaration signed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and South African President Thabo Mbeki has been called the Tshwane Declaration.

Tshwane refers to the municipality of Tshwane, which includes the city of Pretoria. It is also sometimes used as an alternative name for the city of Pretoria itself. In March 2005, the Pretoria city council voted to rename the city Tshwane. Therefore, the drafters of the Declaration chose to call the Manmohan Singh-Mbeki agreement the Tshwane Declaration.

More In: Today's Paper