Staff Correspondent

Mamatha Gatti voted out through no-confidence motion

  • 18 members vote for the motion
  • Dharanendra Kumar abstains from voting

    MANGALORE: The 11-month-old Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) power-sharing arrangement in Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat came to an end here on Friday with a majority of 35 members in the House voting for a motion of no-confidence against Mamatha D.S. Gatti, the incumbent president from Congress.

    Fifteen Bharatiya Janata Party members and three of the five Janata Dal (S) members, who had moved the motion on December 8, voted for it.

    Ten Congress members, including Ms. Gatti, walked out of the meeting hall as soon as the motion was adopted. Five members of Congress and one from Janata Dal (S) were absent. The other Janata Dal (S) member P. Dharanendra Kumar, who is the vice-president, abstained. Mr. Kumar, who was supposed to preside over the meeting, arrived late.

    In his absence, Abdul Aziz Malar, chairman of the Standing Committee on Social Justice, was elected to preside over the meeting. Thungappa Bangera, leader of Opposition BJP, had proposed Mr. Malar's name.


    Krishna Shetty, member, seconded the motion. Mr. Malar immediately took up the motion for voting. The members voted by raising their hands. The entire process was completed in 20 minutes. A.M. Kunjappa, chief executive officer of the panchayat, said he would send a copy of the meeting proceedings to the Deputy Commissioner, who would then announce the date for election to the post of panchayat president. The process of electing Ms. Gatti's successor should be completed with in a month. Till then Mr. Kumar will be acting chief of the panchayat.

    More In: Today's Paper