Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Veteran film-maker Adoor Gopalakrishnan’s Oru Pennum Randanum has bagged five of the State film awards for 2008.

The film — produced, written and directed by Adoor — won the awards for best feature film, director, scenarist, second best female actor and sound recording. Praveena won the second best female actor award for portraying the character Pankiamma and T. Krishnanunni and Harikumar for sound recording.

Bhoomi Malayalam, directed by T.V. Chandran, won the award for the second best feature film. Thalapavu, directed by Madhupal, won the award for the best debutant director and it fetched the best male actor award for Lal. Anoop Menon won the second best actor award for the character Ajaya Chandran in Thirakatha. Priyanka won the best female actor award for her performance in Vilapangalkappuram. Aryadan Shoukath who wrote the story of Vilapangalkappuram won the award for the best story writer, Manjari who sang the song ‘Mullulla murikkinmel…’ the honour for the best female playback singer and Kumar Edappal for costumer.

Best comedian

Mamukoya was adjudged the best comedian for his performance in Innathe Chinthavishayam, directed by Sathyan Anthikkad. Nivedita Thomas won the best child artiste award for her role in the film Veruthe Oru Bharya.

Bioscope, directed by Madhusoodanan, won a special mention of the jury and the awards for best photography for M.J. Radhakrishnan, editing for Beena Paul, background score for Chandran Veyyatummel and processing laboratory for Chitranjali.

The song `Oru naal oru shubha rathri…’ in Gulmohar won O.N.V. Kurup the award for best lyricist. M. Jayachandran was adjudged the best music director for the songs in Madambi and Shankar Mahadevan the best male playback singer award for the song `Kalyana kacheri…’ in the same film.

Best art director

The award for best art director went to Manu Jagath (Calcutta News). Renjith Ambadi (Thirakatha) won the award for best makeup man. Sreeja won the best dubbing artiste award for lending voice to Minnaminni Koottam. Brinda Vinod won the award for choreography for her steps in Calcutta News. The award for the best popular film went to Innathe Chinthavishayam, directed by Sathyan Anthikkad.

The awards for best book on Malayalam cinema went to Bodha Theerangalil Kaalam Midikkumbol, written by A. Chandrasekhar, and best article on cinema to Vadakkan Pattu Cinemakal: Desiyathayum, Samoohikathayum, written by P.S. Radhakrishnan.

Prize money

A citation and memento will be presented to all the winners in addition to cash prizes.

The producer of the best feature film will get Rs.2 lakh and the director Rs.1 lakh. The producer of the second best film will get Rs.1.20 lakh and the director Rs.75,000. The director and producer of the popular film will get Rs.80,000 each. The best debutant director and the one who got the special mention of the jury will get Rs.80,000 each. The best male actor and female actor will get Rs.75,000 each.

More In: Today's Paper