Special Correspondent

National Film Awards 2005 announced, delay due to court cases

NEW DELHI: After being delayed by nearly a year because of court cases, the National Film Awards for 2005 were announced on Tuesday. Budhadeb Dasgupta’s Bengali film ‘Kaalpurush’ has been adjudged the Best Feature Film and will get the Swarna Kamal. And, in the non-feature film category, the top award has gone to ‘Riding Solo to the Top of The World’ by Gaurav A. Jani.

The Hindi film ‘Parineeta’ has walked away with the Indira Gandhi Award for the Best First Film of a Director. Again a Swarna Kamal recipient, both its producer Vidhu Vinod Chopra and director Pradeep Sarkar will get Rs. 25,000 each.

Best Popular Film

The Aamir Khan-starrer ‘Rang De Basanti’ has been declared the Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment and will get a Swarna Kamal. The Best Actor award has gone to Amitabh Bachchan for the Hindi film ‘Black’ and the Best Actress award to Sarika for her role in the English film ‘Parzania.’ Its director, Rahul Dholakia, also got the Best Direction Award.

‘Rang De Basanti’ figures among the awards more than once: The Best Audiography award went to Nakul Kamte, Best Editing award to P. S. Bharathi and Best Male Playback Singer to Naresh Iyer.

The Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration has gone to the Malayalam film ‘Daivanamathil’, the award for Best Film on Family Welfare to ‘Thavamai Thavamiranthe’ in Tamil, and the Best Film on Other Social Issues to the Hindi venture ‘Iqbal’. Nasseeruddin Shah has bagged the Best Supporting Actor award for his role in ‘Iqbal.’

The Kannada film ‘Thutturi’ has got the award for Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation, and ‘Blue Umbrella’ in Hindi has been adjudged the Best Children’s Film. While Sai Kumar has been declared Best Child Artist for his role in ‘Bommalata – A Bellyful of Dreams’, the Best Supporting Actress award has gone to Urvashi for the Malayalam film ‘Achhuvinte Amma’. The Best Female Playback Singer award has gone to Shreya Ghoshal for a song in the film ‘Paheli.’

The Best Cinematography Award has been bagged by Madhu Ambat for the Tamil film ‘Sringaram’, the Best Screenplay award by Prakash Jha, Shridhar Raghavan and Manoj Tyagi for the Hindi film ‘Apaharan,’ and the Best Art Direction award by C. B. More for ‘Taj Mahal – An Eternal Love Story’. The Best Costume Designer award will be shared by Anna Singh for ‘Taj Mahal — An Eternal Love Story’ and Sabyachi Mukherjee for ‘Black.’

While Anupam Kher has got a Special Jury Award for ‘Maine Gandhi Ko Nahin Mara,’ the Best Music Direction award has gone to Lalgudi Jayaraman for ‘Sringaram’ and the Best Lyrics award to Barguru Ramachandrappa for a song in the Kannada film ‘Thaayi’. The Special Effects Award has gone to Tata Elexi for the Tamil film ‘Anniyan.’ And choreographer Saroj Khan has got the Best Choreography award for the film ‘Sringaram.’

More In: Today's Paper