IMPHAL: The 118-day-old coalition ministry in Manipur, headed by Okram Ibobi, was expanded on Wednesday, when six members of the Congress were inducted.

Governor S.S. Sidhu administered the oath of office and secrecy to Yumkham Erabot, N. Loken, L. Jayenta, K. Ranjit, N. Biren and D.D. Thaisi at the Raj Bhavan here.

Despite pressures from the RJD and the ruling partner, Communist Party of India, no MLA from these parties was accommodated in this expansion. Almost all MLAs who missed the bus were conspicuous by their absence.. Mr. Ibobi alone was sworn in on March 2, 2007.

More In: Today's Paper