Special Correspondent

Lenin Rajendran best director; Prithviraj, Urvasi adjudged best actors

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Prithviraj, Urvasi, M.P. Sukumaran Nair and Lenin Rajendran have won the top honours in the State film awards for 2006.

The awards were announced by Minister for Cultural Affairs M.A. Baby and jury chairman T.K. Rajiv Kumar here on Friday afternoon.

Prithviraj and Urvasi won the award for the best male and female actor for their performance in `Vasthavam' and `Madhu Chandralekha' respectively. `Drishtantham' directed by M.P. Sukumaran Nair has been adjudged the best film and Lenin Rajendran the best director for the film `Rathri Mazha,' produced by Rakesh. `Notebook' directed by Roshan Andrrewss is the second best film. Saikumar won the second best male actor award for his role in `Anandabhairavi.' Padmapriya was adjudged the second best female actor for her roles in `Karutha Pakshikal' and `Yes Your Honour.' The award for the best child artiste was shared by Mani and Malavika for their roles in `Photographer' and `Karutha Pakshikal' respectively.

James Albert who penned the story of `Classmates' is the best story-writer and Manoj Pillai (`Kayoppu') won the best cameraman award. Major Ravi who wrote the screenplay of `Keerthi Chakra' is the best scenarist.

While Prabha Varma won the best lyricist award for his song in `Out of Syllabus,' Ramesh Narayanan was adjudged the best music director for his songs in `Rathri Mazha.' The award for the best background score was given to `Thashi' for the film `Thantra.' Srinivas and Sujatha are the best playback singers. They won the award for the song `Bamsuri shruthi pole... ' in `Rathri Mazha.'

L. Bhoominathan (`Vasthavam') is the best editor, Gokuldas (`Thantra') best art director and Harikumar (`Drishtantham') best sound recordist. Gemini Colour Lab won the award for the best film processing. Pattanam Sha (`Puli Janmam') is the best make-up artiste and V. Sai (`Notebook') best costumer. Vimi Mariam George (`Kayyopu') is the best dubbing artiste. Madhu Gopinath and Saji Vaikkom bagged the best choreographers award for the dances they composed for `Rathri Mazha.'

The special award for the popular film went to `Classmates.' Award for the debut director went to Avira Rebecca who directed `Thakara Chenda.' Actor Srinivasan won the special jury award for his role in the same film. Khushbhoo's acting in `Kayyopu' and Madhu Kaithapram who directed `Ekantham,' won a special mention of the jury. R. Sarath's `Bhoomikkoru Charamageetham' was adjudged the best short-film and `Minukku' portraying the life and characters of Kathakali artiste Kottakkal Sivaraman directed by M.R. Rajan won the award for the best documentary. The award for the best book on cinema was shared by M.F. Thomas (`Adoorinte Chalachitra Yathrakal') and P.G. Sadanandan (`Cinimayude Neethisaram'). The award for the best essay on cinema was given to N.P. Sajeesh for his article on `What Malayalam cinema says to the Muslims after the Gujarat riots.'

Actor Archana, D. Gouthaman, Rosemary, Fousia Fathima, Umbai P.A., and Kalamandalam Kshemavathi were the members of the film jury. The jury for books and articles was headed by Ravindran. M.A. Rehman and Sushamma Vijayalakshmi Mohan were the jury members.

More In: Today's Paper