Special Correspondent

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The book, ‘Marar Lavanyabhavathinte Yukthi Silpam,’ on veteran critic P.C. Kuttikrishna Marar, written by Thomas Mathew, has been selected for the 33rd Vayalar Rama Varma Literary Award for 2009.

Vayalar Rama Varma Memorial Trust president M.K. Sanoo told reporters here on Saturday that the jury comprising former Chief Secretary C.P.Nair, litterateur Sethumadhavan and C.R.Susheela Devi, principal, NSS College, Changanassery, selected Mr. Mathew’s book from three entries which figured in the final round. Stories, poetry and criticism, which were published between 2004 and December 31, 2008, were considered for the award.

Selection process

The trust requested 226 persons to nominate three books each in the three categories published during the five-year period for the award. As many as 138 persons recommended 196 titles. The trust picked up five books which got the maximum points and sent them to 20 persons.

Final three

Based on their assessment, the books which got 11 points were ranked first, those with seven points, second and the ones with three points, third. Three books which got the maximum points were handed over to the jury for the final selection.

The award comprising Rs.25,000, a memento designed by Kanayi Kunhiraman and a citation will be presented to Mr. Thomas at a function to be held at Tagore Theatre on October 27.

Jury members, trust vice-president O.N.V. Kurup, vice-president and treasurer N. Ramachandran, secretary C. Thrivikraman, and members K. Jayakumar and C. Gouridasan Nair were also present.

More In: Today's Paper