Staff Reporter

Kochi: N. Ram, Editor-in-Chief of The Hindu, has been chosen for this year’s K.R. Narayanan Award for his outstanding contribution to journalism in India. Instituted by the K.R. Narayanan Foundation in memory of the late President, the award is to honour individuals who have excelled in various fields. It carries a statuette, citation and a ‘ponnada.’

At a media conference held here to announce this, the award committee chairman Justice K. Narayana Kurup, former acting Chief Justice of the Madras High Court, said Mr. Ram had been selected for the honour in view of his excellence in journalism. “It is for highlighting the problems of the ethnic Tamils in Sri Lanka through a series of articles, fostering better relations between India and China, and for sensitising the readers of The Hindu to the hazards of climate change and global warming,” Mr. Kurup said.

Interestingly, the late K.R. Narayanan began his brief stint in journalism when he joined The Hindu as a sub-editor after quitting the job of a college lecturer. Decades later, when he became the President of India, Mr. Ram did a wide-ranging interview with him for Doordarshan and the All India Radio on the occasion of the fiftieth year of the country’s Independence.

Other awards

The K.R. Narayanan award committee, also comprising former minister Prof. N.M. Joseph and former Vice-Chancellor of Mahatma Gandhi University A.T. Devasia, has decided to confer the K.R. Narayanan Pravasi Ratna Award on Yusuffali M.A., the UAE-based Emke Group Managing Director, for his services to Non-Resident Indians. The Malayalam movie ‘Pazhassi Raja’ will receive the K.R. Narayanan Kala Puraskaram.

Earlier recipients of the award include K. Radhakrishnan, former Speaker of the Kerala Legislative Assembly, and G. Madhavan Nair, former Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Chairman.

The awards will be presented at a function to be held in connection with the K.R. Narayanan Memorial Lecture in New Delhi in the first week of January. K.R. Narayanan Foundation chairman Uzhavoor Vijayan and general secretary Eby J. Jose were also present at the media conference.

More In: Today's Paper