R. Rajaram

TIRUCHI: State Government has approved the creation of a new office of the Deputy Transport Commissioner at Thanjavur by bifurcating the Tiruchi zone office.

At present, Deputy Transport Commissioner, Tiruchi zone, has control over the Regional Transport Offices (RTO) at Tiruchi, Srirangam, Karur, Pudukottai, Perambalur, Thanjavur, Tiruvarur and Nagapattinam besides six offices of the Motor Vehicle Inspector (MVI) situated in various districts in the Central Region.

The RTOs at Pudukottai, Thanjavur, Tiruvarur and Nagapattinam districts and the MVI offices at Pattukottai, Mannargudi and Mayiladuthurai would fall under the Thanjavur zone.

The office of the MVI at Kumbakonam which is to be upgraded as a full-fledged RTO shortly and the new MVI office at Aranthangi in Pudukottai district will also come under the Deputy Transport Commissioner, Thanjavur zone. The creation of a new Deputy Transport Commissioner office at Thanjavur by bifurcating the Tiruchi zone is to facilitate quicker administrative works, Transport Department authorities told The Hindu here. Owing to the bifurcation, the Tiruchi zone will have under its limit the RTOs at Tiruchi, Srirangam, Karur, Perambalur and the new RTO to be opened at Ariyalur besides the MVI offices in Manapparai, Tiruverambur and Kulithalai in future.

More In: Today's Paper