Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: M.N. Vidyashankar, Principal Secretary, Department of Information Technology, Biotechnology, and Science and Technology, will be the new Chief Electoral Officer of the State.

The incumbent, R. Ramaseshan, had sought voluntary retirement from the Indian Administrative Service and he is expected to be relieved by the end of this month.

The State Government had recommended the names of Sobha Nambisan, N. Sivasailam and Subir Hari Singh. The Election Commission had picked Ms. Nambisan, but she sought a change on personal grounds.

More In: Today's Paper