The Aam Aadmi Party on Sunday declared its intention of contesting the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections by throwing open its primary membership to all citizens for free. A countrywide decentralised membership drive — “main bhi aam aadmi” (I too am a commoner) — will be held from January 10 to 26. The party plans to contest in 15 to 20 States.

AAP leader Yogendra Yadav made the announcement at the end of a two-day national executive meeting here. He said the party decided to contest all the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi, and the Assembly and Parliamentary seats in Haryana.

The AAP will also put up candidates in some seats in Tamil Nadu, and most Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies in Maharashtra.

Convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal will spearhead the party’s election campaign.

More In: Today's Paper