Virender Singh (Indo Tibetan Border Police) banked on speed and superior skills to subdue bigger build Kuljinder Singh (Punjab) in the men’s 81kg final at the Senior National Judo Championships 2010-2011 on Sunday. The former scored an Ippon with a throw amidst applause at the Andheri Sports Complex.

The men’s 100 kg saw an exciting contest featuring Vikram Solanki and Pawan Kumar, the former notching a win on points. Yashpal Solanki (Punjab) and Yaima Singh (SSCB) were locked in an intense battle in

men’s 90 kg category. Both were on level terms with a minute to go when Solanki pulled off an inner thigh throw to score a full point (Ippon) and win the title.

Delhi women judokas made an impact, grabbing gold in 70kg and 48kg categories. Jinal Devi overcame H Sunibala (Manipur) in an well-fought contest between 70kg judokas. Shantimala Devi asserted herself against Bem Bem Devi (CRPF) in the 48kg.

Rajwinder Singh (Punjab) won the women’s 78kg event by a full point (Ippon) against R Rekha (Haryana), scoring with a sweeping hip throw for the gold. Jina Devi (Delhi) forced H Sunnibala (Manipur) to surrender with an armlock in the women’s 70kg bout.

The two-day event featuring judokas from all over India was conducted by Mumbai Judo Association, under auspices of Judo Federation of India. Table Tennis international Kamlesh Mehta, rugby international

Rahul Bose and actor Javed Jaffri were guests of honour and awarded medals.

Final results:


100kg: Vikram Solanki (Central Industrial Security Force) gold; Pawan Kumar (Punjab) silver; Tushar Malode (Maharashtra-B), P Pramod (Delhi) bronze.

90kg: Yashpal Solanki (Punjab) gold;Yaima Singh (Services Sports Control Board) silver; A. Amrinder (Haryana), Tokas Rajpal (Border Security Force) bronze.

81kg: Virender Singh (Indo Tibetan Border Police) gold; Kuljinder Singh (Punjab) silver; Vikender Singh (CISF), Sahil Pathania (All India Police) bronze.

60kg: Chana Navjot (All India Police) gold; Lal Bansi (Haryana) silver; Bhupinder Singh (Punjab), N K Romen Singh (SSCB) bronze.


78kg: Rajwinder Kaur (Punjab) gold; R Rekha (Haryana) silver; Jaibhai Swapnali (Mah-B), Jagjeet Kaur (CISF) bronze.

70kg: Jina CH Devi (Delhi) gold; H. Sunibala (Manipur) silver; Ruma Gupta (UP), Aruna A (Haryana) bronze.

63kg: Gari Chaudhry (UP) gold; Nayana Paul (Delhi) silver; Nidhi Bharadwaj (CRPF), Th Gangarani (Manipur) bronze.

52kg: Chanu Gomti (CRPF) gold; Th. Kalpana Devi (ITBP) silver; O Rasheswori (Manipur), V Veena (Haryana) bronze.

48kg: Shantimala Devi (Delhi) gold; Bem Bem Devi (CRPF) silver; Nippu Jamwal (Jammu & Kashmir), Kutuja Multani (Karnataka) bronze.

More In: Sport | Other Sports