The Wimbledon Championships, the third Grand Slam tournament of the season, will take place in London, England. Andy Murray hopes to defend his title after becoming the first British men’s singles champion for 77 years. The women’s tournament is guaranteed a new champion following the retirement of Marion Bartoli.

This year’s singles champions at Wimbledon will each receive £1.76 million ($2.9 million) after overall prize money was increased to £25m ($42m), up 10.8 percent on 2013. Notwithstanding a form-blip, Roger Federer will look to claim a record eigth title. Rafael Nadal, on the other hand, will be gunning to go past Pete Sampras's record of 14 Grand Slam titles.

More In: Tennis | Sport