Mohit Mayur and Ramkumar combine well to take doubles crown

Arjun Kadhe continued to be the thorn in the flesh for the Tamil Nadu camp as he beat R. Ramkumar 6-3, 6-2 in the men’s semifinals of the Fenesta National tennis championship at the DLTA Complex here on Friday.

Wild card Kadhe, who has already beaten four Tamil Nadu players, will challenge the top-seeded Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, who downed third-seeded Siddharth Rawat, dropping just one game.

In the doubles final, there was some cheer for the talented youngsters, Mohit Mayur and Ramkumar, who beat Vivek Shokeen and Kaza Vinayak Sharma.

Eighteen-year-old Arjun Kadhe started badly, losing the first game, that too with a doublefault on the third breakpoint. However, he regrouped himself nicely to clinch the first set in about 40 minutes.

Solid game

In the second, he broke Ramkumar in the first and fifth games to finish the match. “I expected a tough match. I was serving well and took my chances,’’ said Arjun.

He hoped to put up a good show against Jeevan in the final.

“He has a deceptive serve and moves well. He is the top seed and solid with his game. I need to be patient,’’ said Arjun, who conceded that Jeevan would be a lot more mature with his approach than Mohit Mayur or R. Ramkumar.

Prerna in final

In the women’s semifinals, Prerna Bhabri overcame early breaks of serve in both the sets to outwit the free-stroking Sri Vaishnavi Peddi Reddy in straight sets. She will challenge her doubles partner and top seed Rishika Sunkara, who sailed smoothly past third seed Natasha Palha for the loss of three games.

In the women’s doubles final, Natasha Palha and Treta Bhattacharya beat the top-seeded Prerna and Rishika, both coached by Aditya Sachdeva, in the super tie-break.

In the junior girls’ semifinals, Tarrannum Handa saved seven matchpoints to beat Sai Samhitha 3-6, 7-6(9), 7-5 in a battle that lasted three hours and 25 minutes. She will meet Pranjala Yadlapalli in the final.

In the boys’ section, Karan Salwan beat the second-seeded Shaikh Abdullah in the third set tie-break to set up a title clash with the top-seeded Rishab Aggarwal.

The results: Men (semifinals): Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan bt Siddharth Rawat 6-1, 6-0; Arjun Kadhe bt R. Ramkumar 6-3, 6-2. Doubles (final): Mohit Mayur and R. Ramkumar bt Vivek Shokeen and Kaza Vinayak Sharma 5-7, 7-6(5), 10-3.

Women (semifinals): Rishika Sunkara bt Natasha Palha 6-2, 6-1; Prerna Bhambri bt Sri Vaishnavi Peddi Reddy 6-4, 6-4.

Doubles (final): Treta Bhattacharya and Natasha Palha bt Prerna Bhambri and Rishika Sunkara 6-4, 0-6, 10-7. Under-18 boys (semifinals): Rishab Aggarwal bt Neeraj Elangovan 6-1, 6-1; KaranSalwan bt Shaikh Abdullah 6-3, 4-6, 7-6(2).

Under-18 girls (semifinals): Tarrannum Handa bt Sai Samhitha 3-6, 7-6(9), 7-5; Pranjala Yadlapalli bt Nehal Sahni 6-3, 6-2. Doubles (final): Himani Mor and Vanshika Sawhney bt Jahnavi Gupta and Vineeta Singh 6-2, 6-3.

More In: Tennis | Sport