Arjun Kadhe blasted his way past second-seeded P.C. Vignesh, beating him 6-2, 6-1 in the men’s quarterfinals of the Fenesta National tennis championship at the DLTA Complex here on Thursday.

It was no surprise that the 19-year-old Kadhe, runner-up in the last edition, was able to ride his big serves and firm ground strokes, as Vignesh had also been troubled by a painful back. While Vignesh had given a hint about his vulnerability in the earlier rounds, Kadhe had been solid with his all-round game.

In the semifinals, Kadhe will face local lad, the fourth-seeded Chandril Sood, who got past qualifier Saurabh Singh in straight sets. The other semifinal will be between the top-seeded Mohit Mayur and the former national champion Nitten Kirrtane.

In the women’s section, Sharmada Balu showed strong fighting spirit yet again as she battled past third-seeded Eetee Maheta, winning the first set tiebreak from 0-3 down, and overcoming a mid-match lapse to close out the decider.

Sharmada will be up against the top-seeded Shweta Rana, who saved a set-point in the tie-break to beat Mahitha Dadi Reddy 7-6(6), 6-1.

Sai Samhitha put her single-handed backhand to good use in stopping Asian junior champion Snehadevi Reddy, despite an indifferent start. Sai will be up against Prerna Bhambri, who was in fluent form against former national champion, Rushmi Chakravarthi.

In the junior boys’ section, Udayan Bhakar beat Nikki Poonacha 5-7, 6-4, 6-4. Hardeep Singh Sandhu and Dalwinder Singh Sandhu also advanced.

The results (quarterfinals): Men: Mohit Mayur bt Mukund Sasikumar 6-3, 7-5; Nitten Kirrtane bt Gurinder Singh 6-3, 6-2; Chandril Sood bt Saurabh Singh 6-3, 7-5; Arjun Kadhe bt P.C. Vignesh 6-2, 6-1.

Women: Shweta Rana bt Mahitha Dadi Reddy 7-6(6), 6-1; Sharmada Balu bt Eetee Maheta 7-6(5), 2-6, 6-2; Sai Samhitha bt Snehadevi Reddy 2-6, 6-3, 6-1; Prerna Bhambri bt Rushmi Chakravarthi 6-3, 6-2.

Under-18: Boys: Udayan Bhakar bt Nikki Poonacha 5-7, 6-4, 6-4; Hardeep Singh Sandhu bt S. D. Prajwal Dev 4-6, 6-2, 6-3; Mukund Sasikumar bt Shrey Gupta 6-1, 6-0; Dalwinder Singh bt B. R. Nikshep 6-1, 6-3.

Girls: Simran Kaur Sethi bt Jennifer Luikham 6-4, 6-4; Karman Kaur bt Mihika Yadav 6-4, 4-6, 7-5; Teertha Iska bt Shrishti Slaria 6-7(3), 6-2, 7-6(2); Sai Samhitha bt Devanshi Bhimjiyani 6-3, 6-1.

More In: Tennis | Sport