SSN College of Engineering emerged the overall champion in the 10th annual SSN Trophy all-India inter-collegiate sports festival held at the college campus here on Friday.

SSN claimed the championships in table tennis, tennis and badminton in the men’s section while its women's teams won badminton and table tennis titles.

In all, it was SSN College all the way in the four-day competitions.

Ms. Kala Vijayakumar, President, SSN Institutions distributed the cash awards of Rs.200,000 and prizes in the presence of Dr. Salivahanan, Principal and P. Balaji, Physical Director.

The results:


Basketball: Final: Sathyabama 73 (Siddeek 23) bt SBM Jain 58 (Yousouf 25, Bharath 23). Semifinals: SBM 79 (Kaif 21) bt Jeppiaar Institute of Tech. 73 (Ajinkya Mane 26); Sathyabama 52 (Gio 15) bt St. Joseph’s 40 (Divia 11).

Table Tennis: Final: SSN ‘A’ bt KL University 3-0; Third place: SSN ‘B bt SA Engineering 3-2.

Tennis: Final: SSN ‘A’ beat KL University 3-0: Third place: SSN ‘B’ bt SA Engineering 3-2.

Badminton: Final: SSN bt MLSU, Udaipur 3-0.

Chess: 1. St. Joseph’s, 2. SSN, 3. PSNA, Dindigul, 4. CoE, Guindy.


Basketball: Final: Nandha Arts 52 (Alukya 20, Gomathi 18) bt St. Joseph’s 27 (Anita 10). Semifinals: St. Joseph’s 43 (Sowmya 11) bt Lady Doak, Madurai 29 (Jaya Prathiba 15); Nandha Arts 42 (Keerthi 13) bt SBM Jain 41 (Sandhya 18).

Badminton: SSN bt VNRVJIET 2-0; SSN bt KL University 2-0; Stella Maris bt VNR VJIT 2-0; KL University bt Stella 2-0.

Table Tennis: Final: SSN ‘A’ bt Stella Maris 3-0: Third place: SSN ‘B’ bt Ethiraj 3-1.

Best Players: Badminton: Mohanakrishnan (SSN); Women: K. Suneri (SSN).

Tennis: Irfan Hussain (SSN); Women: Preethi Ujjini (SBM, Bangalore). Table tennis: Senthil Kumar (SSN); Women: Divya Rajaram (SSN).

Basketball: Ajinkya Mane (Jeppiaar IT); Women: Pradeepa (Lady Doak, Madurai).

Chess: N. Surendra (St. Joseph’s).


SportsMay 14, 2012

Arts, Entertainment & EventsMay 14, 2012

More In: Sport | Chennai